Frequently Asked Questions
Online Courses Currently Available in: CO, FL, GA, ID, MI, NJ, NY, VA, TN, TX
These are generic general questions and answers, all states do not go by the same rules and laws, please check with the proper agency in your state to get the correct answer.
- How Often Can I Attend Traffic School?
- How Long Do Courses Take?
- Are The Course Available In Other Languages?
- How Much Does Each Course Cost? How Does One Pay For The Course?
- What Is Your Refund Policy?
- How Do I Get My Certificate?
- Is An E-mail Address Required?
- What Do I Do If I Lose Or Forget My Login Information?
- How Do I Begin The Course?
How Often Can I Attend Traffic School? In Florida You can only elect to attend traffic school one time in a 12 month period, and only 5* times over a 10 year period to keep points from being assessed to your driving record. 12 months is not necessary January to December, it may be June to May, (it is 12 floating months). You can however, attend traffic school as often as you like for personal enhancement or to stay current with safety information. You must contact the Clerk of Court in the county you received the citation within 30 days to let them know your intentions of taking care of that ticket.
Your 3 Options Are:
Option 1: PAY THE FINE AND RECEIVE POINTS ON YOUR DRIVING RECORD.
Option 2: ATTEND TRAFFIC SCHOOL:
Inform the Clerk of Court in FL in the county where you received the citation, that you want to attend traffic school. Pay a fee at the Clerk's Office in the county where you received the citation. Take a point reduction class BDI (Basic Driver Improvement) Register Here and show proof to the Clerk's Office within the time constraints imposed by the Clerk's Office.
IMPORTANT: After you receive your certificate of completion of the defensive driving course, you must show proof of completion to the clerk of court's office in the county in which you received your ticket. In some counties you have 60 days and other counties you have 90 days from the date you elected to attend. Please be aware of what your requirements are for the county in which you received your ticket.
Option 3: ELECT A COURT APPEARANCE: Inform the Clerk of Court in the county where you received the citation, that you want a court hearing. The Clerk's Office will assign you a court date. The court may find you guilty, assess points, impose a civil penalty, require you to attend traffic school, or all of the above. Your insurance rates may increase or your policy may be canceled.
BENEFITS OF COMPLETING TRAFFIC SCHOOL: Please check with your state for correct requirements
If, as a result of a moving violation, you elect to attend and complete traffic school, you will receive the following benefits pursuant to Florida law. Your insurance rates cannot go up and your policy cannot be canceled. FS 626.954, unless this involved a crash where you were at fault. Points may not be added to your driver's license record, adjudication of guilt is withheld, safe driver status is maintained if applicable. If you elect to attend traffic school when you are not eligible, or if you have questions regarding your eligibility status, please contact the clerk of the court in the county in which you received your citation. Florida Clerk of Courts - http://dlis.dos.state.fl.us/fgils/coclerks.html * You can only elect traffic school 5 times in a 10 year period to remove points for moving violations. You can however, attend traffic school more than 5 times in a 10 year period, if you are court ordered to attend a traffic school. Court ordered does not count as one of your elected times.
How Long Do Courses Take? The State of Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, requires our Ticketed and First Time Drivers Classes at least 4 hours to complete. 4 Hour Course The time a student spends in the course will vary according to his or her reading ability. You can take longer, but you cannot complete sooner. We also offer a class for court-ordered students who are required to attend an 8-hour class.
Are The Courses Available In Other Languages? Our 4 and 8 hour traffic classes are available online in English and Spanish only. Our Parenting Class is only available in English.
How Much Does Each Course Cost? You need to click on the menu link for the state, then click on the menu link for the class you need to take. States and courses do not have the same names or prices for their courses.
How Does One Pay For The Course? You can either pay for the course by a debit or credit card (MC, Visa, Amex, Disc), or by check, money order, or cash. You can use our secure site for credit or debit cards or you can call in your card number during normal business hours at 1-305-292-2878. Please note that check and money order payments must be processed and clear before a certificate is issued.
How Do I Get My Certificate? When you successfully complete the course, your certificate will be sent to you by regular mail. You can have the certificate e-mailed, faxed or overnighted to you for an extra fee. Please note that some states or jurisdictions may not accept faxed or e-mailed certificates. Please check with your state and jurisdictions for compliance. IMPORTANT: After you receive your certificate of completion of the defensive driving course, you must show proof of completion to the proper agency office in the state and county in which you received your ticket. States and counties have different regulations on when you need to take your course and when the certificate must be presented to the proper agency. Please be aware of what your requirements are for the state in which you received your ticket. It is your responsibility to sent your certificate to the proper office in the proper jurisdiction by your due date.
Is An E-mail Address Required? No. However, we do send a registration confirmation by email if one is provided and if applicable for that state. That confirmation page provides you with your login information in case you forget to write it at the time of registration.
What Do I Do If I Lose Or Forget My Login Information? If you lose or forget your login information, click on the login button, in the new window type in your e-mail address (if you provided one) and the information will be sent to you. If you did not provide an e-mail address call our office during normal business hours and we will lookup the information for you. You must provide us with some pertinent information for verification.
How Do I Begin The Course? Click on the Register Now button on the home page, read the information on each course and selected the one that's right for you, and fill out the registration information. You will be given a personal login name and number that you will need to retain for future access to the course. Once you have received your login information, you can enter and exit the course as many times as you want from any computer with internet access at anytime, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Therefore, you do not have to complete the course in one session.
Troubles? If you have any troubles please contact us during normal business hours at 1-305-292-2878 or e-mail us at
Normal Business Hours: M - F 9AM - 6PM EST
Point Buster Driver Improvement Academy Classes are held at 1316 5th St.
Key West, FL 33040
There is no office there to talk with anyone, please call 305.292.BUST (2878).