Wednesday, April 25, 2018

How to Get a Driver’s License in Florida

 

Florida Learner's Driving Permit

If you are under the age of 18 you must complete and pass a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course, Road Rules and Road Signs Test online or in person. A vision test and hearing test (available at the DMV)

In addition, when you apply for your license you must have:

Proof of completion of the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (also known as D.A.T.A or Drug and Alcohol Course)

Road Rules/Road Signs Practice Test: A short practice test for learner’s permit exam questions can be found online

Intermediate License (For 16-17 years old)

To get an intermediate license in Florida you must be at least 16 years of age and have your learner’s permit for 1 year without any traffic convictions. If you have received a traffic ticket while driving with your learner’s permit, you may be able to take traffic school to avoid a conviction. To apply for your driver’s license, you need:

  • Your Florida Learner’s Permit
  • Parent or guardian certifying completion of at least 50 hours of behind the wheel training, 10 hours of which are at night
  • To pass a driving test at the DMV

Driver’s License Classes and Class E License (18 years and older)

In Florida there are several types of driver’s license classes, restrictions and exemptions. The most common type of driver’s license is a Class E. For age 18 years or older you need:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Proof of residential address
  • Proof of completion of a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course or license from another state, country, or jurisdiction

For more details, click here.

 

.